Return to Headlines

FREE Meals for 2020-21 School Year

The Oneida-Herkimer-Madison BOCES Food Service program is making sure meals are reaching all children – whether they are learning in the classroom or virtually –  so they are fed and ready to learn!

School districts in the OHM BOCES Food Service program will continue distributing FREE meals to all children through the end of the 2020-2021 school year. Meals are available for all children 18 years of age and under in each district, regardless of free/reduced/paid lunch status. The free meals are being made available to all children through the extension of the U.S. Department of Agriculture’s (USDA) Summer Food Service Program (SFSP) and Seamless Summer Option (SSO).

“Participating in the free meal program can help so many families,” said OHM BOCES Food Service Director Kate Dorr. “Of course, those who are struggling financially during these difficult times but also those who may just need one less thing to worry about as they try to balance remote learning, working from home and a new way of life in general. We are happy to be able to alleviate some of that burden for them. We want to make sure we are serving as many meals as possible to ensure the health of our community’s children and hopefully, be able to continue programs like this in the future!”

Parents/guardians should still fill out a Free/Reduced Price Meal Form for the 2020-2021 school year and return it to their child’s school district so that their child will continue to receive free or reduced-price meals, if eligible, once this program ends.

For additional information about the program, parents/guardians should contact the food service program in their child’s school district or OHM BOCES Assistant Food Service Director Jake Perrin at

The Oneida-Herkimer-Madison BOCES Food Service Program serves the following school districts: Brookfield, Clinton, Frankfort-Schuyler, Herkimer, Mount Markham, New Hartford, New York Mills, Oriskany, Owen D. Young, Poland, Remsen, Richfield Springs, Sauquoit Valley, Waterville and Westmoreland.