Return to Headlines

BOCES, Local School Districts to Participate in New York Food Day

The school districts in the Oneida-Herkimer-Madison BOCES Food Service program as well as Holland Patent and Whitesboro will participate in a New York Food Day on Thursday, May 30, 2019. The semiannual New York Food Days are coordinated by Farm to School Mohawk Valley, a partnership between the OHM BOCES, local school districts and Cornell Cooperative Extension of Oneida County. All of the buildings in 16 school districts, plus the OHM BOCES, will be serving a menu featuring locally grown, processed and produced items.


The menu for the day will feature local beef meatball subs, local apple cheddar salad, local apples, New York state milk and yogurt.


“New York Food Day showcases amazing foods that are grown and produced right here in the Mohawk Valley,” said Kate Dorr, OHM BOCES assistant school lunch director and registered dietitian nutritionist. “School lunch is a forum to introduce students to healthy eating habits and an opportunity to strengthen the local agricultural economy.”


Partnering farms and businesses include: Cornell Cooperative Extension of Oneida County, Byrne Dairy, Carlo Masi Sons and Daughter, Cuba Cheese Shoppe, Lucki7 Livestock Company, Mosner Family Brands and Radicle Farm.


To stay up-to-date on all regional Farm to School activities, please visit the “Farm to School Mohawk Valley” page on Facebook.


What:                           New York Food Day


When & Where:          Thursday, May 30, 2019, during lunch periods

                                    OHM BOCES

                                    Clinton CSD

                                    Frankfort-Schuyler CSD

                                    Herkimer CSD

                                    Holland Patent CSD

                                    Mt. Markham CSD

                                    New York Mills Union Free School

                                    New Hartford CSD

                                    Oriskany CSD

                                    Owen D. Young CSD

                                    Poland CSD

                                    Remsen CSD

                                    Richfield Springs CSD

                                    Sauquoit Valley CSD

                                    Waterville CSD

                                    Westmoreland CSD

                                    Whitesboro CSD                                  


The Oneida-Herkimer-Madison BOCES serves the following 12 component school districts: Brookfield, Clinton, Holland Patent, New Hartford, New York Mills, Oriskany, Remsen, Sauquoit Valley, Utica, Waterville, Westmoreland and Whitesboro.