6/4/19 - End of Year Meeting and Administration Breakfast

  • The Oneida/Herkimer School Library System, a service of the Oneida-Herkimer-Madison BOCES, held its annual End of Year Meeting and Administration Breakfast on June 4. During the breakfast, several awards were presented to local administrators and educators who have made significant contributions to the school library program. 

    Whitesboro High School Principal Jeff Kuhn was recognized as Administrator of the Year for his outstanding support of the school library, Holland Patent Middle School Teacher Justin Eberly was named Teacher of the Year for his contributions and advocacy of the school library, and John F. Kennedy Middle School Teacher Librarian Mary Lourdes Heaton was honored as Librarian of the Year for her contributions to the library community. 

    "It was special to be recognized as the first time winner this year as there are many quality leaders in our region,” Mr. Kuhn said. “It's also nice to be recognized by the teachers for the collaborative work that we do together each day.” 

    Following the breakfast, members of the School Library System took part in a professional development session on media literacy from Project Look Sharp. 

    The School Library System serves 22 school districts and four nonpublic schools in the Oneida/Herkimer region by promoting and facilitating equitable access to information through coordinated resource sharing, professional development and introduction of effective technologies.