About Us

  • An Educational Partnership for School Districts

    Oneida-Herkimer-Madison BOCES is part of a state-wide system  of Board of Cooperative Educational Services and was one of the first four established by the New York State Legislature in 1948 under section 1950 of the NYS Education Law. There are currently 37 BOCES in New York state. BOCES functions as a link between local schools and the State Education Department. Through cooperative efforts of component school districts, BOCES offers a wide variety of educational and support services to public education agencies throughout the state.
    BOCES serves its component districts by offering a variety of educationally-focused programs, services, and support systems including career and technical education, special and alternative education, administrative and financial services, human resources, program and professional learning, information and technology support, and shared itinerant staff.
    For a complete listing of BOCES programs and services, please check out the 2024-2025 Service Directory.

    The governing body of BOCES is a BOCES Cooperative Board with membership from each of the 12 component school districts.

    Twelve Component Schools Served include:
    Brookfield, Clinton, Holland Patent, New York Mills, New Hartford, Oriskany, Remsen, Sauquoit Valley, Utica, Waterville, Westmoreland and Whitesboro.

    Geographic Area Served
    OHM BOCES serves School districts in a 549 square-mile area comprising Oneida, Herkimer and Madison counties.